NCTC employees participate in state teachers' convention

Elizabeth F. Abu | Apr 5, 2018

Several North Central Texas College (NCTC) employees attended and participated in the recent Texas Community College Teachers Association (TCCTA) convention held in Frisco, Texas. TCCTA is the largest organization of community college educators in the nation and its annual convention program includes over 150 discipline-specific sessions as well as special Financial Planning seminars and Student Success break outs. Convention attendees network with other faculty leaders from across the state, share research, and acquire information regarding current developments in pedagogy and technology.

Many NCTC employees are actively involved in TCCTA. Those who serve on state committees are: Keith Bailey Auditing Committee Chair, Jane England Campus Representative and Nominating Committee Member, Dr. Cherly Furdge Legislative Committee Member, Dr. Pat Ledbetter Campus Representative and Professional Development Committee Member and Diane Mannion Dual Credit Council Member.

Additionally NCTC professor Kevin Davis was co-chair for the Government section, organizing and arranging speakers for four sessions. Other participants were professors Sara Gottardi,  who shared innovative classroom activities with colleagues during the Great Ideas for Teaching Students (GIFTS) program and Jack O’Conner, who presented a paper at the Philosophy session entitled “Self-Interested Thinking and Tyranny: How the Euthyphro is a Warning to Republics.”

“With offerings on both academic topics and technical subjects, the convention literally has something for everyone,” said Englnad.

For example, NCTC biology professor Dr. Sam Dunlap especially enjoyed the biology session noting that the program “was useful in reminding me to supplement my lectures with more case studies of topical medical conditions or biology subjects.” Dr. Dunlap also stepped outside his own discipline to attend an “interesting and fun” history session entitled ”What History Teaches and What it Doesn’t.”



Pictured from left to right are Adam Ramsey, Jeremy Godwin, Crystal Wright, Karen Marcotte, Pat Ledbetter.