Creative Writing

2018 Contest & Awards Ceremony
  • Nick Del Calzo, Guest Speaker for 2017
  • Clinton Brennan Award for Literary Excellence in Prose & Poetry winner, Victoria Fuentes
  • Layuna Hicks Award for Literary Excellence in Poetry winner, Allison Kami
  • Ona Robert Wright Award for Literary Excellence for Prose winner, Maria Hernandez

Creative Writing Contests
Participate, Be Honored, Get Published!

Download the following document to receive your entry form and the complete rules, guidelines, deadlines, and prize list. Good luck writers!

 Creative Writing Contest Rules & Entry Form

Guest Speaker C.C. Hunter

The 2018 Awards Ceremony will be April 13th at 11:00 AM featuring Guest Speaker C.C. Hunter.

C. C. Hunter is the American author of the Shadow Falls young adult novel series. C.C. Hunter is a pen name. Under her real name, Christie Craig, she also writes romantic suspense novels. Born in Alabama, she now lives in Texas.

Visit Her Website

Previous Guests

Nick Del Calzo - 2017

Nick Del Calzo, Guest Speaker 2017

Nick Del Calzo is living his dream by pursuing documentary, black and white portraiture. He devotes his talents to conceiving and producing photographic projects that advance human values. His first book and national exhibition, The Triumphant Spirit: Portraits & Stories of Holocaust Survivors, was featured on the CBS Sunday Morning show and on CNN. He also created the NY Times Best Seller, Medal of Honor: Portraits of Valor Beyond the Call of Duty. It features 156 of our nation's most honored heroes--recipients of the Congressional Medal of Honor. This body of work is on permanent display in the Hall of Heroes at the Pentagon and at the Center for American Values in Pueblo, CO.

His newest book, Wings of Valor: Honoring America’s Fighter Aces, was published by US Naval Institute Press. Nick has received numerous national awards.

John Coe Robbins - 2016

John Coe Robbins, Guest Speaker 2016

John Coe Robbins is a career professional writer.  His novel Maya Lord was published in 2011, and a film based on the book is currently in development by Roland Emmerich, the director of more than a dozen major films including The Patriot, Stargate, 2012, and Independence Day.

John also wrote and produced the Emmy-nominated and TV Hugo Award-winning Documentary Dying To Live, which follows the lives of four potential organ transplant recipients as they wait for an organ to become available. The documentary was syndicated nationally to public television stations.

Previously, John worked as a television feature reporter and documentary writer and producer at TV stations in Georgia and Michigan. His stories have appeared on ABC, CNN, Discovery and A&E and have won numerous awards.

Beginning in 1994, he established a writing company that develops scripts for documentaries, broadcast spots, and corporate video and multimedia productions.

John holds a B.A. from Duke University and a M.A. in Communications from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill. He and his wife Sarah live in Fort Worth, where Sarah is a professor at TCU.