Spring PTK Induction ceremony recognizes academic excellence

by Darin Allred | Apr 27, 2015 <p> </p>

North Central Texas College paid tribute to 113 students for outstanding academic performance and exemplary citizenship at the recent spring semester induction ceremony for new members of Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) honor society.

PTK is the largest honor society in American higher education, with more than 1.3 million members and 1,100 chapters located in all 50 United States, U.S. territories, Canada, Germany and Japan.

Jill Swarner, advisor for NCTC's award-winning Psi Iota chapter, said membership in PTK is by invitation only, extended to students who have completed at least 12 hours of coursework leading to an associate degree with a grade point average of 3.5 or higher.

The spring induction ceremony was held on April 24 at the NCTC Flower Mound campus.

The ceremony included a keynote address by NCTC instructor Jane England. NCTC Vice-President of Instruction Dr. Andrew Fisher was inducted as an honorary member.

Spring 2015 Psi Iota officers include Vice President of Fellowship Angelica Abuana, Vice President of Scholarship Nichole Miller, Vice President of Service Austin Hammond, Vice President of Leadership Nathan Salyer, Vice President of Membership Ashley Magenheimer, Campus Representative Troy Akpagu, and Campus Representative Anne-Marie Brown.

New Phi Theta Kappa inductees at NCTC, by hometown, included:

ARGYLE: Kaitlynn Johnson, Ludivine Varga, Charles, Wright

AUBREY: Maris Adams

BOWIE: Perry Dillon, Anna Henson, Carrie Penton, Shelbi Rhoda

CARROLLTON: Amber Banks, April David, Emily Gibbons

CORINTH: Hafeez Adewusi, Cody Beall, Tejay Betz, Thomas Caddell, Jeremy Chapman, Adam Pearson, Samantha Razo


DECATUR: Erica Cooke

DENTON: Karina Aguirre, Donniqua Barkley, Cinthia Bejarano, Justin Bohannan, Christopher Burk, Kenzie Cornelius, Stephanie Delvalle, Ngozi Enogun, Gustavo Espinosa, Jeremy Faglie, Carmen Hernandez, Brittany Hudson, Amy McCue-Denney, Brenna Murphy, Oswaldo Palao, Jennifer Peyton, Hailey Porras, Zachariah Riggs, Brandon Salais, Gabriela Teekasingh, Jennifer Torres, Qinpei Zou

EDWARDS, CO.: Elizabeth Dreiske

FLOWER MOUND: Kaitlyn Abraham, Anna Baldwin, Emma Butler, Andie Caster, John Cohen, Lucia Cruz, Nicole Eason, Justine Falk, Alexander Guevara, Kristina Hrubo, Kristen Jackson, Zachary Kuban, Nhi Luong, Kaitlyn Maddox, Lindsey Marrs, Peyton Miller, Joel Sanchez, Aubrey Williams, Jennifer Wyatt

GAINESVILLE: Kay Kinser, Clara Mendez, Isidra Molina, Marisa Pels, Rebecca Riddels, Reagan Woodlock

GRAHAM: Graciela Chavez, Kendra Dye, Shalena Green, Magnolia Minyard

HIGHLAND VILLAGE: Selene Allison, Nicole Benson, Jodi Brown, Carrie Crawford, Caitlin Eastwood, Alec Head, Christen Lehner, Nancy Meservey, Ashley Reyes, Ethan Tradup

JACKSBORO: Rosa Gonzalez

JUSTIN: Victoria Alexander

KRUGERVILLE: Rigo Trevino, George Wilthers

KRUM: Heather Phillips

LAKE DALLAS: Chevelle Wohr

LANTANA: Ashlyn Anderson

LEONARD: Riley Bonds

LEWISVILLE: Ivan Aponte, Sylvia Beasley, Kandise Britt, Kelly Bui, Kaitlyn Dodson, Thiennga Duong, Antoinette Eyebe, Mary Harris, Kayla Inman, Kelly Miller, Caitlyn Newkirk, Krystina Newkirk, Denton Reissig, Truman Sawyer, Juan Umana, Huy Vuong

MUENSTER: Dylan Clure

PROVIDENCE VILLAGE: Melissa Bressler, Whitney Fields

SANGER: Zackary Hutchins, Amie Pennington

SHADY SHORES: Hrad Atashian

TYLER: Mattie Counts

VALLEY VIEW: Miranda Kaylor

Swarner says the students in Phi Theta Kappa this year have been incredibly busy.

"Currently, they are planning resume workshops for their fellow students," she said "In the fall, they organized 'Nerds and Bikers' which was a motorcycle rally to raise funds to sponsor a literacy fair at the Boys and Girls Club, and to support Compassion International, where many of them interned."

For more information at Phi Theta Kappa at NCTC, contact Swarner by email at

ptk group web