NCTC hosts Collegiate Horse Judging Contest

Pamela VanHook | Apr 22, 2014


North Central Texas College Equine hosted the National Horse Judging Team Coaches' Association Spring Contest and Julie Voge's Judging 101 on April 15 at the NCTC Gainesville campus.

Junior and Senior College Horse Judging teams from across the country came to Gainesville to compete. Colleges started arriving into the area Thursday on April 10 to practice in preparation for the contest because of the large concentration of nationally-recognized horse facilities and trainers in the North Central Texas area. Colleges caravanned to various farms throughout Southern Oklahoma, Whitesboro, Aubrey, Denton and Gainesville.

On April 13, the teams came to the NCTC Equine Center for a presentation by Jerry Erickson on judging Hunter Hack classes and then assembled at the Little Theater to hear Alex Ross, AQHA Director of Judges, talk about judging Western Pleasure and Ranch Horse Pleasure classes.

On April 15, a total of 150 college students competed for awards for their judging and speaking abilities.

NCTC's spring judging team (Kris Hendrickson, Christy Petry, Lyndi Starr and Lissa Visconty) made a strong showingm winning fifth place in the Performance Division, and seventh place Overall. NCTC team member Christy Petry was fifth high individual in the Performance Division and seventh High Individual Overall. Northeastern Oklahoma State College won the Junior College Division with Black Hawk College from Illinois placing second, third and fifth, and NEO's second team placing fourth overall.

In the Senior College Division, former NCTC student Amy Petry, now at Texas Tech, dominated the Sr. Division winning Overall High Individual in the contest with individual wins in Performance and Reasons Divisions. She carried the Texas Tech team to a fifth high team award. The University of Florida won the Sr. College competition, with Oklahoma State, Texas A&M, Iowa State, and Texas Tech rounding out the Top 5 Sr. College teams.

Other colleges participating in the contest included: Redlands (Okla.) Community College, Cloud County (Kan.) Community College, Colorado State, Kansas State, Virginia Tech, West Texas A&M, Texas A&M-Commerce, University of Arkansas, University of Wisconsin at River Falls, New Mexico State, and Cal Poly.