Faculty to serve on statewide committees

Darin Allred | Apr 28, 2014

Four faculty members from North Central Texas College have been selected to serve on statewide committees for the Texas Community College Teachers Association (TCCTA).

Keith Bailey will serve on the Auditing Committee, Pat Ledbetter will serve on the Professional Development Committee, Cherly Furdge will serve on the Legislative Committee, and Dee Ann McFarlin will serve on the Membership Services Committee.

"I think it is pretty impressive that NCTC has four faculty members serving on statewide committees," Ledbetter said. "I think it is an honor to serve, but it also demonstrates a high level of professional commitment from our faculty."

For the last 6 years, NCTC History instructor Jane England has been an Executive officer in TCCTA. She has been elected Treasurer, Secretary, Vice President, President Elect, President and Immediate Past President. On April 12, she completed her term as Immediate Past President and officially retired from the Executive Committee. As part of her last EC meeting she participated in appointing the committees for 2014-2015.

The Texas Community College Teachers Association is the largest organization of community college educators in the nation. Its members include administrators, full time and adjunct faculty, staff, counselors, librarians and other community college employees.