PTK inducts 33 new members

by Darin Allred | Oct 14, 2013 <p> </p>

GAINESVILLE - North Central Texas College paid tribute to 33 students for outstanding academic performance and exemplary citizenship at the recent fall semester induction ceremony for new members of Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) honor society.

PTK is the largest honor society in American higher education, with more than 1.3 million members and 1,100 chapters located in all 50 United States, U.S. territories, Canada, Germany and Japan.

Robert Burton, advisor for NCTC's award-winning Psi Iota chapter, said membership in PTK is by invitation only, extended to students who have completed at least 12 hours of coursework leading to an associate degree with a grade point average of 3.5 or higher.

"We are very proud of these students for earning one of the highest distinctions that can be earned at our college for academic excellence," said NCTC president Dr. Eddie Hadlock.

The fall induction ceremony was held Sunday in the Little Theater on the NCTC Gainesville campus.

"Phi Theta Kappa membership is not only viewed as an exceptional academic honor at NCTC," said Professor Burton, a member of the college English faculty, "but also as something that distinguishes its members as being among our most effective campus leaders.

"Once they've completed their education, we expect them to become outstanding community leaders as well."

Sunday's ceremony included a keynote address by NCTC instructor David Martz.

Fall 2013 Psi Iota officers include Vice President of Fellowship Riley Caughlin of Denton, Vice President of Scholarship Jenna Stembridge of Lewisville, Vice President of Service Richard Tomlinson of Denton, Vice President of Leadership Kasey Carmack of Justin and Vice President of Outreach Gregory Wilcox of Lake Dallas.

New Phi Theta Kappa inductees at NCTC, by hometown, included:

AUBREY: Emily Talbot.

BARTONVILLE: Scott Eichler.

CARROLLTON: Ihuoma Osuji.

CORINTH: Mary Daub, Leah Schneider.

CROSS ROADS: Elizabeth Headrick.

DENTON: Justin Dickinson.

FLOWER MOUND: Jacob Ayers, Melissa Sinclair, Amanda Smith.

FORT WORTH: Lisa Deisley.

GAINESVILLE: Theary Alvarez, Salyna Baca, Cassondra Solesbee.

HICKORY CREEK: Marvin Estes.

JUSTIN: Kasey Carmack.

LAKE DALLAS: Gregory Wilcox.

LANTANA: Aubrey Sherbondy, Mykynzie Nielsen.

LEWISVILLE: Brent Brewster, Drew Chandanais, Gabriella Gurczak, Patrick Moore, Adam Reinhart, Grace Rogers.

LITTLE ELM: Cassandra Wagner.

LIVINGSTON: Jodisia Sellers.

OAK POINT: Amy Fryar-Bond.

PILOT POINT: Cali Medford.


VALLEY VIEW: Melanie Jackson, Jeffrey Mills.

WHITESBORO: Nicole Biller.