Community Art Show winners recognized at reception

by Darin Allred | Apr 11, 2013 <p> </p>

GAINESVILLE - Winners received their awards at a recent ceremony capping this year's 47th annual Community Art Show hosted by the Visual Arts Department at North Central Texas College.

Both the awards ceremony and the public exhibition of the 119 entries in this year's show took place in the NCTC Visual Arts Center on the Gainesville Campus.

Members of NCTC's Visual Arts Club volunteered their time to assist in presenting certificates and a total of $2,160 in combined cash prizes to top winners of the various media categories.

Guests at the awards ceremony also were invited to tour and explored the various art studios within the Visual Arts Center.

This year's winners were:

Youth Division I (K-2): 1st- Landen Fenoglio, Chisolm Trail Elementary; 2nd- Kyla Taylor, Lindsay; 3rd- Sage Neu, Lindsay; HM- Mary Colwell, Lindsay.

Youth Division II (3-5): 1st-Elliot Lampson, Linsday; 2nd- Bryn Coambes; 3rd- Nash Dieter, Lindsay; HM- Makenzie Fleitman, Lindsay; Daniel Bell, Lindsay.

Youth Division III (6-8): 1st- Justin Fuhrmann, Lindsay; 2nd- Isaiah Williams, Chico; 3rd- Allison Maddux, Chico; HM- Jacob Munoz, Callisburg; Karlee Case, Lindsay.

Youth Division IV (9-10): 1st- Chrissy Croninger, Callisburg; 2nd- David Nunez, Callisburg; 3rd- Kassie Cooper, Callisburg; HM- Brianna Aumorualogo, Lake Dallas; Landry Stewart, Lake Dallas.

Youth Division V (11-12): 1st- Anja Schneider, Lake Dallas; 2nd- Justin Crowley, Lake Dallas; 3rd- Haylie Wilson, Sanger; HM- Kiara Lopez, Lake Dallas; Ryan Shivers, Lake Dallas.

Best of Show - Youth Division: Anja Schneider for "Monster in the Closet" ($50 from NCTC).

First State Bank Gold Award - Youth Division: Brianna Aumorualogo for "Self Portrait" ($125 from First State Bank)

First State Bank Silver Award - Youth Division: Kassie Cooper for "Untitled" ($50 from First State Bank)

Open Division:

Category A - Oil, Acrylic, Watercolor: 1st- Laura Horner with "Ceiling"; 2nd- Janette Winkles with "Sassy"; 3rd- Cynthia Westbrook with "Roots"; HM: Jose Oscar with "Exposed"; Janette Winkles with "Untitled".

Category B - Pastel, Pen, Pencil: 1st- Chrissy Croninger with "Untitled"; 2nd- Chrissy Croninger with "Koola"; 3rd- Laura Horner with "Hayden Ray"; HM- Chrissy Croninger with "Sunflower Night"; Roxanne Musick with "Trailing Orchids II.

Category C - Photography, Digital Art: 1st- Jack Wiese with "Aspens"; 2nd- Linda Moore with "Fisherman at Dawn"; 3rd- Karen Lampson with "Daniel"; HM- Heidi Klutschkowski with "Untitled"; Karen High-Davis with "Child at Play".

Category D - Jewelry, Metalworking: 1st- Crystal Godin with "Worth More Than Birds"; 2nd- Lamson Nguyen with "Cephalapoda I"; 3rd- Ashley N. Molina with "Copper Layered with Nickel".

Category E - Sculpture: 1st- Cynthia Westbrook with "Her Roots Run Deep"; 2nd- Lamson Nguyen with "Cephalapoda in Wax".

Category F - Ceramics: 1st- Trish Igo & Jill Obrien with "Carrot"; 2nd- Earl Deaver with "Matthew 2-11"; 3rd- Jonathan Dowden with "Mr. Frog".

Category G - Textiles, Fibers, Multimedia: 1st- Jenna Savage with "Love Notes & Unsung Songs"; 2nd- Linda Moore with "Janice's Quilt"; 3rd- Conner Polk with "Untitled"; HM- Jenna Savage with "Untitled"; Conner Polk with "Untitled".

Best of Show - Adult Division: Laura Horner with "Ceiling" ($100 from NCTC).

Exhibit Theme Award: Janette Winkles with "Untitled ($50 from NCTC).

Muse Award: Laura Horner with "Ceiling" ($50 Framing Credit).

First State Bank Gold Award - Adult Division: Sarah Bosserman with "Flower Girl" ($125 from First State Bank).

First State Bank Silver Award - Adult Division: Jenna Savage with "Untitled" ($50 from First State Bank).

Donna Howell Sickles Scholarship Award - Lamson Nguyen ($500 scholarship from Donna Howell-Sickles)

Schad & Pulte Welding Supply Award - Ashley N. Molina with "Copper Layered with Nickel" ($50 cash prize from Schad & Pulte Welding Supply)

Schad & Pulte Welding Supply Award - Crystal Godin with "Worth More Than Birds" ($50 cash prize from Schad & Pulte Welding Supply)

People's Choice Award: Judith McMillion-Smith with "Longhorns" ($50 check from NCTC)

The Gainesville Area Visual Arts organization presented art supplies to the top three winners in each youth division. Those art supplies are funded by the Genelle Merrick Memorial Endowment Fund, which is a permanently endowed fund, established in 2001, intended specifically for winners at this annual exhibit.

For more information about the Annual Community Art Exhibit at North Central Texas College, contact the exhibit coordinator, Karen Lampson, at 940-668-7731 ext. 4504 or by email:

Best of Show and Muse Award - Laura Horner

Donna Howell-Sickles Scholarship Award - Lamson Nguyen

First State Bank Gold Award (Youth) - Brianna Aumorualogo

Best of Show (Youth) - Anja Schneider

Exhibit Theme Award - Janette Winkles

First State Bank Silver Award - Jenna Savage

Schad & Pulter Welding Supply Award - Crystal Godin