NCTC Foundation honors donors and scholarship recipients

by Darin Allred | Nov 16, 2012 <p> </p>

GAINESVILLE-The North Central Texas College Foundation celebrated the accomplishments of students and the donors who helped provide scholarships for those students at the annual Donor/Scholar Breakfast Friday at Lions Fieldhouse on the NCTC Gainesville campus.

The event allowed scholarship recipients the chance to meet and personally thank the donors who gave money for scholarships through the NCTC Foundation. It also allowed the donors to get to know the students and learn more about them and their future plans.

Ed Wright, the President of the NCTC Foundations, welcomed the crowd and thanked the donors for their support of the scholarship program and wished the recipients good luck as they continue their pursuit of education.

Ryan Morris, the Executive Vice-President of the NCTC Foundation, recognized the Foundation board that serves all five of NCTC's campuses. He pointed out that NCTC reached a milestone this semester with more than 10,000 students enrolled in credit classes system-wide.

Debbie Sharp, the Vice-President of Institutional Advancement at NCTC, announced that four new endowed scholarships have been established within the past year.

The family of Peggy Sparks established the Peggy Sparks Memorial Scholarship as a way to honor her and continue her legacy of helping others. The Roy T. Pitcock Family Scholarship was established to assist students with financial need attending the Graham campus in pursuing their educational goals.

Understanding the value of an education, Ben Turbeville established two additional endowed scholarships this year to bring his number of endowed scholarships to six. These scholarships will assist students pursuing a degree in the healthcare fields and the most recent scholarship will assist any student from Cooke County attending NCTC.

The guest speaker at Friday's breakfast was Kristen Weinzapfel, the 2012 Excellence in Teaching Award recipient.

Morris then introduced three scholarship recipients, Shelby Dangelmayr, Cayaana Knipfer and Tami Pierce, who each spoke about how the scholarships they received have helped them in their goal of obtaining an education.

Dan Fain, the director of the NCTC Denton County Foundation, then told the audience that since 1986, over 11,216 scholarships have been awarded valued at over $3.9 million. More than 350 students received scholarships during the Fall 2012 semester alone.

The breakfast ended as NCTC President Dr. Eddie Hadlock again thanked the donors and congratulated the scholarship recipients and encouraged them to become donors themselves one day.

For more information about the NCTC Foundation, contact Sharp at 940-668-3305.

CELBRATING EDUCATION - The NCTC Foundation hosted a Donor/Scholar Breakfast Friday that allowed scholarship recipients a chance to meet and thank the donors who made their scholarship possible.

DONORS MAKE THE DIFFERENCE - NCTC donors Bob Chaloupecky, left, and Ona Wright visit after Friday's NCTC Foundation Donor/Scholar Breakfast. Thanks to donors, 365 students received scholarships from NCTC during the Fall 2012 semester.