PTK Induction Recognizes Academic Excellence

by Pamela VanHook | Mar 05, 2012 <p> </p>

GAINESVILLE - North Central Texas College paid tribute to 38 students for outstanding academic performance and exemplary citizenship at the recent spring semester induction ceremony for new members of Phi Theta Kappa (PTK) honor society.

PTK is the largest honor society in American higher education, with more than 1.3 million members and 1,100 chapters located in all 50 United States, U.S. territories, Canada, Germany and Japan.

Robert Burton, advisor for NCTC's award-winning Psi Iota chapter, said membership in PTK is by invitation only, extended to students who have completed at least 12 hours of coursework leading to an associate degree with a grade point average of 3.5 or higher.

New PTK members at the 2012 induction ceremony"We are very proud of these students for earning one of the highest distinctions that can be earned at our college for academic excellence," said NCTC president Dr. Eddie Hadlock, who welcomed the new members at Saturday's ceremony.

The spring induction ceremony was held Saturday at the First State Bank Center for the Performing Arts on the NCTC Gainesville campus.

"Phi Theta Kappa membership is not only viewed as an exceptional academic honor at NCTC," said Professor Burton, a member of the college English faculty, "but also as something that distinguishes its members as being among our most effective campus leaders.

"Once they've completed their education, we expect them to become outstanding community leaders as well."

New officers for the Psi Iota chapter were also installed Saturday. Officers include president Joel Russell,vice-president of fellowship Hannah Pugh and Elvis Madurai, vice-president of leadership Brittney O'Connor and Michael Adesanya, vice-president of scholarship Jenny Warmbrodt, vice-president of service Rowena Prather, and vice-president of marketing/promotions Conner Orent.

New Phi Theta Kappa inductees at NCTC, by hometown, included:

Alvord: Deshea Malone

Argyle: Courtney Copeland, Samuel Davidson, Gregory Ledane

Blue Ridge: Charles Deckard

Bowie: Ashley Bell

Carrollton: Jasmine Parker

Corinth: Melanie Cooper, Arslan Khan, Nancy Myers

Denton: Lauren Arnold, Kyle Ewing, Scott Leach, Jose Luna, Hannah Ross, Alisa Siriboury, Michelle Smith, Tiffany Teague

Flower Mound: Swarnima Chaudhary, Paulina Gurczak, Erin Henry, Kendall Keane, Lydia Low, Cassandra Lucio, Joshua McMichael

Jacksboro: Sean Burris

Keller: Korren VonBodungen

Krum: Toni Cline, Krista Sparks

Lewisville: Daniel Drapp, Misty Funk, Jose Giron, Lien Nguyen

Muenster: Shaun Batha

Nocona: Cy Cozart

Sanger: Timothy Trietsch

Valley View: Jennifer Bond, Mark Brown