SKIP TO PAGE CONTENT

Cosmetology Instructor Certificate

Level 1 Workforce Certificate

The NCTC Cosmetology Instructor program curriculum is mandated by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulations. The 15 semester hour curriculum leads to a Certificate of Completion and helps prepare graduates to take the TDLR Cosmetology Instructor Examination. Successful completion of the examination will allow graduates to practice as a licensed cosmetology instructor in the state of Texas.

In addition to the above requirements, to enroll in the Cosmetology Instructor Certificate Program, student must:

  • Be at least 18 years of age by state licensure testing date
  • Hold a current Texas Cosmetology Operator, Esthetician or Manicurist license
  • Have at least one year of verifiable salon/spa experience prior to enrollment

Upon completion of this program, student will be able to:

  • Explain, design and implement teaching methodologies and lesson plans
  • Demonstrate effective classroom/clinic management
  • Identify the laws and rules of the state licensing agency
  • Demonstrate the skills and knowledge required for successful completion of the state licensing examination

Fees associated with the degree are as follows:

  • Textbooks, approximately $260
  • $17 name badge
  • $120 fee is required for state board licensure exams

This certificate is offered only through face-to-face classes. The program is designed to take 16 weeks to complete (attending four days per week) and is comprised of the following suggested pathway or course of study.

Student may wear professional business attire or scrubs with NCTC logo and name monogrammed on top.

Certificate Requirements

First Semester
CSME 1534 COSMETOLOGY INSTRUCTOR I 5 credit hours
CSME 1535 ORIENTATION TO THE INSTRUCTION OF COSMETOLOGY 5 credit hours
CSME 2514 COSMETOLOGY INSTRUCTOR II 5 credit hours
Total Credit Hours: 15

Total Credit Hours: 15

Verification of Workplace Competencies: Eligibility to sit for TDLR Cosmetology Instructor License exam.