Biology

 

 

NCTC offers biological science courses for both the science major as well as the non-science major. Most of our courses provide students with four hours of transferable credit and include a laboratory component (nutrition is our only three hour course and our only course that does not include a laboratory component). General biology, botany, environmental biology, and zoology are the courses most often taken for transferable credit to four-year universities. Anatomy and physiology as well as microbiology are required for associate of science degrees in allied health such as nursing, but are often used in transfer degree programs such as dental hygiene and kinesiology. Nutrition is accepted at NCTC as well as in many universities as a fitness and wellness course.

 

Courses Offered
 

BIOL1322

Basic Nutrition

BIOL1408

General Biology

BIOL1411

General Botany

BIOL1413

General Zoology

BIOL2401

Human Anatomy And Physiology I

BIOL2402

Human Anatomy And Physiology II

BIOL2406

Environmental Biology

BIOL2420

Microbiology

 

 

For additional information, please contact faculty

and staff listed below:

(click on name for vitae)

 

Wendy Perkins

Departmental Assistant

Phone: 940-668-4252

Office: Gainesville - Room 403

Email: wperkins@nctc.edu

  

Belinda Anderson

Instructor 

Phone: 940-872-4002 ext 5217

Office: Bowie - Room 132

Email: banderson@nctc.edu


Dr. Lisa Bellows

Instructor

Phone: 940-668-7731, ext. 4346

Office: Gainesville - Room 403A

Email: lbellows@nctc.edu

 

Dr. Ron Bost

Department chair, Instructor

Gainesville, Graham and Bowie Campuses

Phone: 940-668-7731, ext. 4398

Office: Gainesville - Room 404A

Email: rbost@nctc.edu

 

James Crump

Instructor

Phone: 940-668-7731, ext. 4308

Office: Gainesville - Room 405

Email: jcrump@nctc.edu

 

Susan Decker

Instructor

Phone: 940-498-6282, ext. 6263

Office: Corinth - Room 203

Email: sdecker@nctc.edu


Dr. Sam Dunlap

Instructor

Flower Mound and Corinth Campuses

Phone: 940-498-6282, ext. 6229

Office: Corinth Room 351

Email: sdunlap@nctc.edu

 

Dr. Doug Elrod

Department Chair, Instructor

Phone: 940-498-6291

Office: Corinth Room 351

Email: daelrod@nctc.edu


Sara Flusche

Grant Coordinator

Phone: 940-668-7731, ext. 4332

Office: Gainesville - Room 411

Email: sflusche@nctc.edu

 

Sherry Smith

Instructor

Phone: 940-668-7731, ext 4350

Office: Gainesville - Room 419

Email: sherrysmith@nctc.edu

Department of Science Home Page
Biology
Chemistry
Faculty & Staff

 

For additional Information, contact:

  

Dr. Ron Bost
Chair, Department of Science

Gainesville, Bowie and
Graham Campuses

Phone: 940-668-7731, ext 4398

Office: Gainesville, Room 404

Email: rbost@nctc.edu

 

Dr. Doug Elrod
Chair, Department of Science

Corinth and Flower Mound Campuses
Phone: 940-498-6291
Office:  Corinth 351
Email: daelrod@nctc.edu